Summer Studio

Kids, teens, and families are invited to join Whitney Educators for free weekly online art classes this summer. Participants will experiment, create, and learn together with at-home art materials.  

Each week features a new theme and project connected to a work of art in the Whitney's collection or current exhibitions. Projects are designed for different ages. Sign up for one week or all six weeks!


Signs of Protest inspired by Cauleen Smith
Week of July 7–11, 11 am
Tuesday, July 7: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, July 8: 11–13 year olds
Friday, July 10: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, July 11: families

Murals inspired by Vida Americana: Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925-1945
Week of July 14–18, 11 am
Tuesday, July 14: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, July 15: 11–13 year olds
Friday, July 17: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, July 18: families

Drawing Week inspired by Edward Hopper
Week of July 21–25, 11 am
Tuesday, July 21: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, July 22: 11–13 year olds
Friday, July 24: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, July 25: families

Experiments with Color inspired by Emma Amos
Week of July 28–August 1, 11 am
Tuesday, July 28: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, July 29: 11–13 year olds
Friday, July 31: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, August 1: families  

Window Installations inspired by Raúl de Nieves
Week of August 4–8, 11 am
Tuesday, August 4: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, August 5: 11–13 year olds
Friday, August 7: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, August 8: families  

Reimagined Books inspired by Marlon Mullen
Week of August 11–15, 11 am
Tuesday, August 11: 5–10 year olds
Wednesday, August 12: 11–13 year olds
Friday, August 14: 14–18 year olds
Saturday, August 15: families

Sunrise

Sunset

A 30-second online art project:
American Artist, Looted

Learn more