Independent Study Program 1968–2018
50th Anniversary Symposium

Oct 19–20, 2018

This symposium celebrates the 50th anniversary of The Independent Study Program.

Day One
Friday, October 19, 2018
11 am–8 pm

Panel: (Re)constructing Histories
11 am–1 pm

Nora Alter*
Naomi Beckwith (2002–03)
Emily Jacir* (1998–99)
Tom McDonough* (1992–93)
Sadia Shirazi (2010–11)
Moderator: Kenneth White (2013–15)

Talk: Hal Foster*
1–1:45 pm

1:45–2:45 pm

Panel: Institution and Its Discontents
2:45–4:45 pm

Huey Copeland (2002–03)
Rosalyn Deutsche*
Andrea Fraser* (1983–84)
Hans Haacke*
Fred Wilson*
Moderator: Alex Alberro* (1993–94)

Talk: Johanna Burton* (2000–01)
4:45–5:30 pm

Break 5:30–6 pm

Panel: Pedagogy and Critical Practice
6–8 pm

Emily Apter*
Gregg Bordowitz* (1985–86)
Eva Diaz (1998–99)
Mary Kelly*
Devin Kenny (2015–16)
Moderator: Trista Mallory (2011–12)

Day Two
Saturday, October 20, 2018
12–6:30 pm

Panel: Media and Its Apparatuses
12–2 pm

Anthony Cokes (1983–84)
Jonathan Crary*
LaToya Ruby Frazier* (2010–11)
Laura Mulvey*
Ben Young (2000–01)
Moderator: Soyoung Yoon* (2006–07)

Talk: Jennifer Gonzalez* (1994–95)
2–2:45 pm

2:45–3:45 pm

Talk: Sharon Hayes* (1999–2000)
3:45–4:30 pm

Panel: Activism and Critique
4:30–6:30 pm

David Harvey*
Chantal Mouffe*
Martha Rosler*
Gayatri Spivak*
Moderator: Cassandra Guan* (2012–13)

*denotes regular seminar leaders and visiting faculty

This event has reached capacity for pre-registration. ISP alums and faculty do not need to register and can use their membership card for entry for themselves and a guest. Seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. A limited number of standby tickets may be available at the admissions desk on a first-come, first-served basis. The standby line will open one hour prior to the program’s start time.

The symposium will be live streamed on YouTube. Viewing of the live stream will be offered in the Tom and Diane Tuft Trustee Room on Floor 8.

The 50th anniversary events are made possible by the generous support of Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo, the Dorothea L. Leonhardt Fund of the Communities Foundation of Texas, the Dorothea L. Leonhardt Foundation, and Diane and Robert Moss.

Major support for the Independent Study Program is provided by the Helena Rubinstein Foundation, Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo, the Dorothea L. Leonhardt Fund of the Communities Foundation of Texas, and the Dorothea L. Leonhardt Foundation.

Generous support is provided by Margaret Morgan and Wesley Phoa, The Capital Group Charitable Foundation, and the Whitney Contemporaries through their annual Art Party benefit.

Learn more about access services and programs.