Skip to main content

Whitney Biennial 1995
Mar 23–June 4, 1995

The Whitney Biennial 1995 was curated by Klaus Kertess.

View the full exhibition catalogue at the Internet Archive.

More from this series

Learn more about the Whitney Biennial, the longest-running survey of American art.

In the News

“The show [. . .] is low key. It feels spacious and respectful: each work has room to breathe and a viewer has room to think, since the emphasis is on art that doesn’t harangue you with its message.” —The New York Times

“. . . with metaphor as its stated theme and beauty as its big idea, this biennial [. . .] may make a lot of friends.” —The New York Times

“. . . tolerant to a fault.” —The Washington Post

“. . . trying to be all things to all people, showing some political art and some abstract painting [. . .]. In politics and in everyday life, being conciliatory is an important virtue, but in art it leads towards eclecticism, which is boring.” —The Burlington Magazine

COVID-19 vaccination and face coverings are not required but strongly recommended. Book tickets in advance and review our visitor policies.



A 30-second online art project:
Sara Ludy, Tumbleweeds

Learn more

Learn more at