Whitney Biennial 1991

Apr 2–June 30, 1991

The Whitney Biennial 1991 was curated by Richard Armstrong, John G. Hanhardt, Richard Marshall, and Lisa Phillips.

Explore works from this exhibition
in the Whitney's collection

View 8 works

In the News

“. . . a Biennial bigger, more eclectic and more eager to please, and one that prudently claims not to display the best works but ‘to represent in a broad way some of the most notable characteristics of American art today.” —The New York Times

“. . . this year’s selections do not turn away from mainstream film making; they confront it with strong, accessible, artistically dazzling messages.” —The New York Times

More from this series

Learn more about the Whitney Biennial, the longest-running survey of American art.