Skip to main content

Alicia Hall Moran and Jason Moran: BLEED

Thurs, May 10, 2012
11 am–6 pm

Fourth Floor

For their Biennial residency, Alicia Hall Moran and Jason Moran present five days of live music, exploring the power of performance to cross barriers and challenge assumptions, as their title, BLEED, suggests. With a line-up of concerts and events spanning music, dance, theater, and literature, as well as an exhibition of past video collaborations with Glenn Ligon, Joan Jonas, Kara Walker, and Simone Leigh and Liz Magic Laser—and a new video by the cultural historian Maurice Berger—BLEED is a celebration of surprising synergy across the visual arts and music.


11–12:15 pm
I am both a practitioner and a representative of the culture from whence the modality emerged.
      Jane Page, acupuncturist
      Ayako Watanabe, harp
      Kaoru Watanabe, Japanese and Western flutes
      and drums
      Alicia Hall Moran, vocals

1–1:30 pm
Run the World

      Alicia Hall Moran, vocals
      Also featuring Kaoru Watanabe Taiko Ensemble
      with Patty Chen, Aya Ino, Mari Nakano,
      Evan Schnoll, and Kaoru Watanabe

2–2:30 pm
The OmniChillun Lounge Presents TRC vs. AACM*
(*that revolutionary chicken versus the association for the advancement of creative maladjustment)
      Greg Tate as Mister Mister Interlocutor
      Francesca Harper as Malia 2X
      Meah Pace as Martina Lucia Queen
      Featuring “How Are You?” by
      Muhal Richard Abrams as played by
      Jason Moran, piano.
      Text remixed from Malcolm X's April 3, 1964
      “Ballots or Bullets” speech and
      Martin Luther King's December 18, 1963
      speech on Social Justice.

3–3:30 pm
Again, I Say Chévere: A Meditation on the Good News of Stevie Wonder

      A non-traditional homily by Josslyn Luckett
      With Thomas Flippin, guitar

4:45–5:30 pm
ALICIA HALL MORAN + the motown project

     By Alicia Hall Moran
     Alicia Hall Moran, mezzo-soprano
     Steven Herring, baritone
     Thomas Flippin, guitar
     Ayako Watanabe, harp
     Jason Moran, piano
     Tarus Mateen, bass
     Kaoru Watanabe, taiko
     Originally commissioned by The Kitchen, New York

Free with Museum admission; no special ticketing required.

Learn more about access services and amenities.

COVID-19 vaccination and face coverings are not required, but strongly recommended for all visitors. Plan your visit and review our visitor policies.



A 30-second online art project:
Ryan Kuo, Hateful Little Thing

Learn more

Learn more about Sunrise/Sunset on